Happy Birthday to Femsplain!

Bad bitch with great swag.

Bad bitch with great swag.

The theme over on Femsplain this month is “dreams,” which is pretty cute considering they just made a huge dream of mine come true. I’m delighted to announce that I am now a featured contributor for Femsplain!

I’ve sung the praises of Femsplain before. The digital publication—which turns one year old this month—is run by women, for women. They don’t only feature female voices you can’t find elsewhere; they also cultivate a warm, supportive and smart community of writers, readers and some of the loveliest commenters on the planet. The Femsplain staff has worked hard to create not a website, but a home for women on the Internet. Nasty, trolling comments have no place here. Since my first piece went live on the site in April, I’ve met some of my favorite new friends and mentors through the Femsplain network. I’ve also watched some of my old friends write about topics that used to terrify them and watched weight lift from their shoulders in the days that followed. And my writing has grown too.

Four of my pieces are up on Femsplain, and they’re some of the closest to my heart. I find myself writing stories for the site that I would never have come up with on my own: an exploration of my confusing, beautiful feelings for my fuck buddy; reflections on who I would be if I hadn’t gotten an STI; and most recently, a look at why I want to learn how to ride a motorcycle so goddamn much. These essays are funny and weird and deeply personal. It says a lot about the staff I’ve worked with at Femsplain that I feel safe sharing such vulnerable work with them. A byline on a glossy, mainstream women’s website can offer huge exposure, but they can also leave a writer feeling, well, exposed. But I trust my editor at Femsplain to never put a scandalous headline I loathe on a piece, or straight-wash my sexuality, or dumb down my politics. The Femsplain staff is committed to the same values as I am: to tell women’s stories, and hopefully make the world a better place by doing so.

And now they can afford to pay their writers. In a digital publishing industry where female writers all to often have to sell their souls in order to make money, this is amazing and rare. They’re also expanding into video content on their YouTube channel. In case you hadn’t gotten the message yet: Femsplain means business. Support the site by reading its fantastic essays, following @femsplain on Twitter, and donating on Patreon.

So here’s a toast to the future: to the pieces I’ve yet to write and the site they will call home, to Femsplain’s birthday and the team raising it against the odds. Ladies, thank you. I can’t wait to get to work.

Read “I Want To Be a Bad Bitch On A Motorcycle” now>>

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to Femsplain!

Leave a Reply

